2005 Stealth Prototype

2005 Stealth Prototype

Said Hans “When pushed, it works well for bluegrass, and has a heck of a WOOF. It also has a rather jazzy sound to it when you back off.
The whole idea was to make a non-F-5 that sounded like one. I was also trying to get a bigger sound out of it and consequently thought that moving the soundholes out would make for a larger vibrating area. Reverse dolphin holes were chosen because they follow the rim of the instrument and cut across a minimum of grain lines. They sit approximately 1” (total) farther out that regular F-holes. I don’t think that the shape of the holes makes much difference. The Lestock “pointlet” was chosen at the last minute for those sitdown folks that like to plant the instrument on their knee. It makes a lot more sense than the F-5 point, and doesn’t dig into your leg.
In all, I’m quite satisfied with the prototype. It’s Italian spruce and very hard flatsawn maple back. I feel that I could direct the tone qualities with top and back materials with the same predictability that I use for my M23’s. I’ll have it at IBMA for those interested in a test drive.”

Comments are closed.